Tags

, , , ,

Its been almost 2 months since I’ve read this book, and I am still so incredibly blown away by The Book Thief. Words really can’t describe how amazing this book is, but I’m going to do my very best to try.

The Book Thief is about a young girl named Liesel who is sent to live with a foster family in Germany in 1939. With the help of her foster father, Hans, she discovers a passion for reading, a passion that really drives the rest of the novel. But the most unique aspect of this book is the fact that Death narrates it.

The narrator of Death is the most creative idea that I think I’ve ever come across. Zusak gives him a unique voice, one that is haunting and full of impact. I know there is a movie coming out soon, and I’m curious to see how they will – or if they will – carry that over.

Liesel is the perfect protagonist. She is naïve, but smart; timid, but courageous. She has her flaws, but they make her strengths all the more admirable. Her interactions with other characters were entertaining to read about – particularly Hans, Max, and Rudy. Rudy is by far my favorite character, and he and Liesel make an unstoppable team. Their unspoken love for each other is the perfect shining light in a time of war and fear.

Most of all, I loved the writing. Zusak’s style is so poetic and beautiful and haunting. I had my highlighter out, marking stand-out quotes as I read (There were a lot…). His use of foreshadowing is spot-on – my favorite part of the book.

But as it is a story of World War II, The Book Thief is extremely sad. In fact, I was so heartbroken after finishing it, I entered a three week long reading slump. But despite the tragedy within, The Book Thief will remain high on my list of favorite books for a long, long time.

photo: https://readforthefunofit.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/84102-bookthief_cover.jpg

