Tags

, , , ,

After a month long reading slump, I needed a good book that was relatively short, entertaining, and engaging. I thought Speak would be the perfect book, especially after all of the amazing reviews surrounding it.

I had really high expectations for this book, and I think that was my problem. It’s not that I didn’t like Speak, because I did. I really did. I just didn’t understand all of the hype surrounding it.Speak tells the story of Melinda Sordino, a freshman who had a traumatic experience at a party over the summer, but refuses to talk about it. She spends nearly her entire freshman year silent, ostracized, and alone.

Personally, I thought the story was a bit dragged out. Even though it’s already a short novel, I think it could have been compacted even more, maybe into a short story or a novella. I just got a little – ok, a lot bored while reading.

Finally, I just wanted more. The story line with David Petrakis – my favorite character – could have gone further. I wanted more of Mr. Freeman, the art teacher. And I wanted a lot more with Melinda’s parents.

That being said, I still liked the book. I liked Melinda’s growth as a character and seeing her finally being able to interact with others. And best of all, I loved that it managed to get me out of that annoying reading slump!

 

photo:http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/0/04/Speak_1st_Edition_Cover.jpg/200px-Speak_1st_Edition_Cover.jpg

